July 14, 2013

4 Franklin County Legislature races set


---- — MALONE — Four Franklin County Legislature seats will be battlegrounds this year as multiple challengers have come forward for the positions.

Gordon Crossman (D-Malone) will face Republican Mark Besio of Malone in District 3, and Marc “Tim” Lashomb (R-Malone) will be up against Democrat Paul Hogan of Malone and Democrat Carl Sherwin of Malone in District 4.

Sue Robideau (R-Brushton) is challenged in District 5 for the second time by Democrat Don Dabiew of Bombay. And the vacancy created when Timothy Burpoe (D-Saranac Lake) decided not to run again in District 7 will be a three-way contest among Democrat Barbara Rice of Saranac Lake, Republican Edwin Randig of Saranac Lake and Independent Curtis Reynolds of Lake Clear.

Legislators Guy “Tim” Smith (D-Fort Covington) in District 1, Paul Maroun (R-Tupper Lake) in District 6 and Billy Jones (D-Chateaugay) in District 2 are running unopposed for their three-year seats.

The other county-wide race is between Kip Cassavaw and Cindy Gale for the four-year term as county clerk.

Cassavaw was appointed to the post following the retirement of Wanda Murtagh last fall, and Gale is the town supervisor in the Town of Moira.

District Attorney Derek Champagne and County Treasurer Bryon Varin were cross-endorsed by both parties and are running unopposed, as are County Coroners Martin Hughes III and Bert Wilcox.

The primary will be held Sept. 10, and the general election is Nov. 5.

Several positions are also up for re-election in the municipalities of Franklin County, but many have not held their party caucuses yet.

Email Denise A.