Local News

June 29, 2014

Newsmakers: June 27, 2014

SUNY Plattsburgh has awarded five faculty and staff members each the 2014 Chancellor’s Award for Excellence. They are Dr. Wendy Gordon, Excellence in Teaching; Colleen Lemza, Excellence in Teaching; Dr. Rebecca Kasper, Excellence in Professional Service; Dr. Delbert Hart, Excellence in Faculty Service; and Debra Thomas, Excellence in Classified Service. Selected as role models within the SUNY community, a certificate and medallion are bestowed on each recipient.

Gordon joined the SUNY Plattsburgh faculty in 1998 as a visiting assistant professor and since 2006 has served as chair of the History Department. Her doctoral dissertation, “Mill Girls and Strangers: Single Women’s Migration in Scotland, England and the United States, 1850-1881,” was published by SUNY Press in 2002. She serves as presiding officer of the faculty and has been a College Auxiliary Services board member, a General Education Committee member, an associate of the Women’s Studies program and a delegate to the United University Professions.

Lemza has taught at SUNY Plattsburgh since 2001 and has held the position of assistant professor in the Department of Journalism and Public Relations since 2008. Her many activities on campus and off include helping the Crisis Management Team and serving as a member of the Civil Engineering Task Force, SUNY Plattsburgh Campus Community Coalition and the SUNY Plattsburgh PRSSA Chapter and as adviser to Cardinal PR, the student-run public-relations agency. She is the originator of the local Shine On! program for empowering elementary-aged girl and received the Girl Scout National Volunteer Award in 2012.

Kasper is director of the Center for Teaching Excellence and co-director of the Center for Public Services. She has developed countless workshops, programs and conferences, including the conference on teaching and learning, and started the Student Committee on Teaching Excellence, which administers the Teacher of the Month Award. She is the chair of the City of Plattsburgh Democratic Committee, a member of the Clinton County Democratic Committee and a Ward 5 councilor on the Plattsburgh Common Council.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local News

North Country Scenes

Click on photo to view gallery with latest photos