Local News

October 23, 2013

Candidates up for vote in all 18 Essex County towns

ELIZABETHTOWN — There are contests for supervisor in only six Essex County towns in November’s general election.

Those are Ticonderoga, Elizabethtown, Essex, Westport, Minerva and Willsboro.

Town council races are taking place in Elizabethtown, Jay, Minerva, Moriah, Newcomb, North Hudson, Schroon, Ticonderoga, Westport and Willsboro.

The supervisor posts are not up in Chesterfield and North Hudson.

All 18 towns in Essex County have local offices on the ballot for Tuesday, Nov. 5. Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m.

Here’s the slate:


County district attorney: Kristy Sprague (R-C), incumbent.

County coroner (unexpired term): Francis Whitelaw (R), incumbent.


Town Council (one seat): Clayton Barber (R-I); Richard Klages (D-I); Brian LaFountain (D-I).


Supervisor: Charles Harrington (R), incumbent.

Town Council (two seats): Walter Worth (R); Sherlene Simpson Barrows (R).

Highway superintendent: Eugene Ingleston Jr. (R), incumbent.


Supervisor: Margaret Bartley (D-I), incumbent; Noel Merrihew III (R-I).

Town clerk/tax collector: Debra Brooks (R), incumbent.

Town justice ( two seats): William Garrison (R-I), incumbent; Michael Doyle (R-I).

Town Council (two seats): Evelyn Hatch (D-I), incumbent; William Wright Jr. (R-I); Richard F. Olcott (R, I).

Highway superintendent: Michael Drew (R), incumbent.


Supervisor: Sharon Boisen (I), incumbent; Edward Gardner (I).

Town Council (two seats): Bryan Garvey (R); Clair LaPine (R-I).

Highway superintendent: Bradley French (R-I).

Town clerk/tax collector: William Morgan (I).

Assessor: Dianne Lansing (R).


Supervisor: Randy Douglas (D-I), incumbent.

Town clerk: Beatrice Pelkey (R), incumbent.

Town Council (two seats): Archie Depo (D-I), incumbent; Amy Shalton (R-I), incumbent; Frederick Balzac (Green-I).

Town justice: (The following names will be on the ballot, but a recent public vote removed the justice position, so the elected person will not serve.) Rosemond Lincoln-Day (I); Rodney Dockum (I); and William Minoguie (I), incumbent.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Breaking News
New Today
Local News

North Country Scenes

Click on photo to view gallery with latest photos