March 20, 2013

Devlin and Monroe win in Lake Placid


---- — LAKE PLACID — Incumbent Trustee Art Devlin and former Lake Placid police chief Scott Monroe won seats on the Village Board in Tuesday’s election.

The tally was 283 votes for Devlin and 269 for Monroe, with the third contender, David Jones, a former trustee, coming in a close third with 230 votes.

Lake Placid Mayor Craig Randall ran for re-election and his second term in office.

Unopposed, he earned 299 votes.

Bill Hushoff was elected to one open village justice seat with 306 votes. He also ran without challenge.


The turnout was near average despite the wintry weather, according to Lake Placid Village Clerk Kathryn McKillip.

“Absentees have been counted,” she said, providing the tally after the polls closed at 9 p.m.

“The few ballots that are out would not change the result. Turnout was at 438, about average for a trustee race. And considering the weather, we were busy this afternoon.”

Monroe was glad to have exacted a win for his first term on the Village Board.

“I’m overwhelmed by all the people that supported me and can’t thank them enough. I can’t wait. I will be eager and ready to go,” he said.

Jones, who lost by 39 votes, said he worked hard to win a seat on the board.

“I did everything right, just came up a little short,” he said. “I wish Scott all the best, and I’m sure he’s there to help Lake Placid — that is what it’s all about.”


Devlin and Monroe, both independents, join Trustees Jason Leon, a Democrat, and Peter Holdereid, a Republican, who won their seats in 2011 and remain in office until 2015.

Jones had run as part of a team slate with Mayor Randall and Devlin this election.

But the team approach did not prevail as it had four years ago, when Randall and Devlin ran with outgoing Trustee Zay Curtis.

“It represents a change,” the mayor said in an interview late Tuesday. 

“We’re disappointed for Dave; we worked hard as a team. It was very tight, and when I get to look at how the voters voted, I’ll have a better idea of what we need to do in the future. 

“We have some capable trustees and a new trustee to get accustomed to. We’ll start tomorrow as a fresh day.”


Village Board seats are four-year terms.

The community is looking to begin construction of the new trunk sewer line this spring, bringing to completion a project that has been in planning for more than five years.

The sewer project will replace a main line that connects across the Chubb River to the village wastewater treatment plant for an expected cost of $4.8 million.

The Olympic Village was the only Tri-Lakes community to hold an election on Tuesday; Tupper Lake’s village vote takes place with the Town of Tupper Lake elections in November.

There were no seats up for election this year in Saranac Lake.

Here are the results of other village races around the region:


Trustee (two two-year terms): Arvil “Junior” Moore, 115; Joe Treadwell,101.

Village justice (four-year term): Michael Phillips, 44.

And there were 77 write-ins for incumbent Justice John LaBonte, who elected not to run again.


Trustee (two four-year terms): Richard Scholl, 26; Eric Jarvis, 27.

Justice (four-year term): Daniel Lucia, 21.


Trustee (one seat): Patsy Rousell, 7 votes.


Mayor: Jason LaPlante, 25.

Trustee (two seats): Francis Boadway, 25; Charles Cheyne, 25.

Results for the Port Henry election weren’t available by press time.

Email Kim Smith Dedam: