Local News

March 20, 2013

Devlin and Monroe win in Lake Placid

LAKE PLACID — Incumbent Trustee Art Devlin and former Lake Placid police chief Scott Monroe won seats on the Village Board in Tuesday’s election.

The tally was 283 votes for Devlin and 269 for Monroe, with the third contender, David Jones, a former trustee, coming in a close third with 230 votes.

Lake Placid Mayor Craig Randall ran for re-election and his second term in office.

Unopposed, he earned 299 votes.

Bill Hushoff was elected to one open village justice seat with 306 votes. He also ran without challenge.


The turnout was near average despite the wintry weather, according to Lake Placid Village Clerk Kathryn McKillip.

“Absentees have been counted,” she said, providing the tally after the polls closed at 9 p.m.

“The few ballots that are out would not change the result. Turnout was at 438, about average for a trustee race. And considering the weather, we were busy this afternoon.”

Monroe was glad to have exacted a win for his first term on the Village Board.

“I’m overwhelmed by all the people that supported me and can’t thank them enough. I can’t wait. I will be eager and ready to go,” he said.

Jones, who lost by 39 votes, said he worked hard to win a seat on the board.

“I did everything right, just came up a little short,” he said. “I wish Scott all the best, and I’m sure he’s there to help Lake Placid — that is what it’s all about.”


Devlin and Monroe, both independents, join Trustees Jason Leon, a Democrat, and Peter Holdereid, a Republican, who won their seats in 2011 and remain in office until 2015.

Jones had run as part of a team slate with Mayor Randall and Devlin this election.

But the team approach did not prevail as it had four years ago, when Randall and Devlin ran with outgoing Trustee Zay Curtis.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local News

North Country Scenes

Click on photo to view gallery with latest photos