Local News

May 13, 2013

Congressman forms new ag committee



Owens, who served on the House Agriculture Committee in the 112th Congress, has been working on several farm-related bills this year, including legislation to reduce trade barriers for apple exports to Canada, to increase access to credit for farmers, to boost the New York maple industry and to improve access to agricultural labor.


The 47-member committee is preliminary, and more members will be added down the road.

Members of the committee from this area are: Sam Dyer, Todd Giroux, Willie Giroux, Craig Giroux, Tony LaPierre, Angela Swan and Dan Tetreault of Clinton County; Shaun Gillilland, Will Gunnison, Adam Hainer, Erik Leerkes and Michael McCaliffe of Essex County; and Ralph Child and Kirby Selkirk of Franklin County.

Email Joe

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local News

North Country Scenes

Click on photo to view gallery with latest photos