Local News

March 19, 2013

Villagers vote today

There is just one contested race in village elections today: for two Lake Placid trustee seats.

Voters also go to the polls in the villages of Rouses Point, Dannemora and Lake Placid. And residents of the Village of Champlain will decide whether to start the dissolution process that would end their municipal government.

The polls are open from noon to 9 p.m.

Here is a rundown of the candidates running and the polling places:


Trustee (two two-year terms): Arvil “Junior” Moore; Joe Treadwell.

Village justice (four-year term): Michael Phillips.

Vote at Rouses Point Recreation Center’s Halstead Hall, 39 Lake St., Rouses Point.


Mayor (two-year term): Greg Martin.

Trustee (two two-year terms): Kim Trombley; Janet McFetridge.

Vote at the Champlain Village Office on 1104 Route 9/Main St.


Trustee (two four-year terms): Richard Scholl; Eric Jarvis.

Justice (four-year term): Daniel Lucia.

Vote at the Village Office, 40 Emmons St.


Mayor: Craig Randall.

Village justice: Bill Hushoff.

Trustee (two four-year seats): Art Devlin, David Jones and Scott Monroe. The two candidates with the most votes will win the positions.

Vote at the Harrietstown Town Hall, 30 Main St. in Lake Placid.


Mayor: Ernest Guerin.

Trustee (two seats): Staley Rich, Matthew Brassard.

Vote at the Port Henry Fire Station on Church Street.


Trustee (one seat): Patsy Rousell.

Polls are at the Town Hall.


Mayor: Jason LaPlante.

Trustee (two seats): Francis Boadway, Charles Cheyne.

Vote at the Village Offices.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Breaking News
New Today
Local News

North Country Scenes

Click on photo to view gallery with latest photos

  • Stepping forward: The real Colbert

    Letterman changed the late-night TV game between his run on NBC's "Late Night" and starting the "Late Show" franchise in 1993. And while it's tough to replace a pop-culture icon, Colbert, in terms of pedigree and sense of humor, makes the most sense.

    April 16, 2014